FINALLY…I DID IT

I am so excited. Emotional and all thee above.  Even at one point, I felt nauseous.

 

Today.. I registered for The Goofy Race and Half Challenge 2013!! Even better.. I said,”What the Fruit”, and went all the way and now Dopey! 42.3 miles. I have been doing the Galloway Goofy training.To finish  in the upright position. haha.  Also I got the entire week off!!! Thurs 1/10/12 {E’s b-day} Thursday 1/17/13

I did not make it for my kiddo to register for the Full like she wanted. 😦 But now she is gonna let me know later today id she is gonna want to do the half. {she has a job interview this afternoon}

I have been shopping for cold weather running on Amazon. Please if anyone can give me tips,that would be great cause I do not want to wear 30 pounds of sweats again.

I have changed up my diet. {actually everyone’s} We are back to counting WW’s and Meetings. I so missed. -4.8 for me, E -1.5. We are not having hot dogs this month. I have added in juicing.  So far so good. I will post for weigh in Saturday. Having one day to splurge on seems to help.

I am gonna stick to my fueling that has been working for me for the races. I also found powered peanut butter. I am gonna try adding that into my fuel to see if that is gonna help.  Little more protein. For gels, I am finding it easier to use the Vega sport,vs. Hammer. Same for the hydration. Gonna put to the test in the Tower of Terror. Which is only 21 days away now!!  {BTW my Mom said I could have a Casey’s hot dog cause it will be splurge day} 😉

Funny I am excited to run/walk the Tower. That is my plan. Time, I have no time planned. Just gonna do my best. I will not let this race kick my butt like it did in 07′. I plan on a Stinky Smelly Ride on Tower this time. 🙂

Goofy you are..Goofy you will.

 

 

 

About MaMaRae

Training to be a Strongwoman . I like to share my experience and how get there with everyone. Maybe I can inspire You to get up and get moving. To date 83+ lbs gone..still have more to go. Picking up heavy things, and putting them down.
This entry was posted in boots to asses, cenation, Duathlon, hard work, Last chance, RUN, Run Disney, team bring it, Uncategorized, walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FINALLY…I DID IT

  1. Richard says:

    Congratulations and good luck with this! I’m so happy you will be able to do Goofy (and Dopey) this year. I can’t wait to read all about it in the blog!

  2. Chris says:

    Ah, the Dopey. Congrats on taking the plunge and registering! First step in what will be the most painful and joyful weekend of your life, lol! Honestly, for me, I just hate getting up that early in the morning once, let alone 3x’s. So I bow to all of you Goof/Dope’sters who can do it. After the Goofy a couple years back I said I’d hold off till the next anniversary to do it again and sort of holding pat on it. We’ll see though…you guys may motivate me to do it again next year 😉

    As for cold weather gear….honestly, you probably don’t need too much, right? It gets downright cold here in CT and I go with a long sleeve tech with a moisture wicking run “jacket”, which is just like a thinner technical version of a half zip pull over. I have a pair of winter running tights (full leg of course) that I’ll run with just a pair of shorts over….that outfit keeps me warm in temps from zero to 32 very well. Above 32, it really depends on the wind….. I tell ya though, the long leg tights are awesome and allow you to be very mobile…unlike the bunchy sweats… Just my take on the winter garb! I can find some good deals on Kelley’s Running Wearhouse occassionally (I got the Nike winter tights for like 30 bucks!)

  3. wdwalone says:

    Woohoo Dopey!!!!

    The thing is – you never know what the weather will be. Last year it was hot – too hot. I had short sleeves over long sleeve heat gear and I roasted. They were actually dumping water over people’s heads at mile 20-21.

    The year you did the full – so cold. Awful rotten cold. I agree sweats are too heavy.

    Take a look at the Under Armor Cold Weather Gear…They have an entire line. It’s not super heavy, but it’s designed to hold in the body heat while still wicking the moisture. Not super cheap, but keep an eye on sales – that’s when I usually pick it up.

    Like Chris – I have long running tights and throw shorts or capris over them. Then usually a long sleeve tech shirt with a short sleeve tech shirt over it. That has worked for me in cold weather.

    Really it’s just going to take some trial and error to find what works best for you.

Leave a Reply

