Wine and Dine Here and Gone

That sums it up.

I did not do as well as I know I can do. But I still finish. My left calf blew out before we headed into HS.  That last incline angled bridge /ramp did it in.  My garmin said I did it in 3:25 .Holy Cats!! 17 minutes off my normal time!! What did I learn. I need to do more strength in my lower leg muscles. Get my lungs looked at.

The course wasn’t real bad. The only parts I didn’t like was the entrance to AK. It became real narrow, for 11,000 people to fit through. Ak wasn’t as bad as i thought it was going to be. I was a nice change to be in another park. lot’s of walkers and people doing intervals. And taking up the entire way so you can’t get around them.

HS was like doing the TOT . They dragged us all threw the park. What I did notice was that a couple of the water stops were not where they were suppose to be and some of the mile markers were off. my garmin was counting that part but I noticed it.

The medal is heavy. Love it!! What I didn’t like was how crowded the after party was. I mean crowded!! E said that people were being nasty at the Cm’s that were waiting for the time to pass to open the gates.  Then we had a little excitement. I will let those tell about it. 😉

Legs pretty good today, I am going to give them another day,and I am back out the door. Strength training to. I even dusted off my bike. Put air in the tires. I can’t wait!!

Sunday, after the race,my left leg was so sore I had to put my knee brace on so I could walk/hobble. Shuffle my feet.  We didn’t get moving right away. But after we did we were out for 12 hours!! I was a mess. If I sat down to long my legs became stiff.I was laughing at my self. I don’t care I had way to much fun. I had tons of fun with my family too. It was nice to see my daughter not having to live in the shadow of her brother. Smiles, and fun we had.

Can’t wait to do it again!

 

About MaMaRae

Training to be a Strongwoman . I like to share my experience and how get there with everyone. Maybe I can inspire You to get up and get moving. To date 83+ lbs gone..still have more to go. Picking up heavy things, and putting them down.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wine and Dine Here and Gone

  1. Chris says:

    Sounds like a fun, challenging, interesting, and crazy time all in one! Maybe some day I’ll get down there for one of the events not in January!

    So what happened after the people were being nasty to the CM’s? Sounds like a good story in there somewhere!

    I figured something was up with you given that time, I knew you could do 10 minutes faster in your sleep.

  2. Richard says:

    Great job with that half, Rae! You beat me by 6 minutes or so.
    It was great spending time with you before and after the race event, plus Sunday lunch and the Halloween Party as well. Take it easy on those legs while you get back into the flow of things.

  3. rae says:

    Ok so what is next to do?? I am ready!!

  4. wdwalone says:

    It was a pretty good course. A little more challenging in areas than I expected, but overall very doable. I think I would have done better if I didn’t have stomach problems, but it’s my own fault for not fueling right.

    Your daughter was a blast to have around and I’m glad she had fun!

Leave a Reply

